Christianese & Complacency

“I will pray for you.”

“I need some quiet time.”

“I’m waiting on God to move.”

“It’s time to be intentional.”

 Maybe it is a bit cliché that I am writing my first real post about Christian buzz words, as I’m sure my blog will be occupied by these phrases and terms to some degree. Maybe that makes this topic even more relevant. I would bet that you have heard at least one of these phrases in some sort of context before. They circle around churches, College campuses, and inside of youth groups. Phrases or words like these have been given the tagline of Christianese and are starting to hold a negative connotation. The language that Christians seem to share can be useful, but what about when the words become empty and overused?

 Often times I get so centered on my everyday living that when someone else shares a hardship, especially another Christian, it is so easy for me to throw out a passive phrase: “I will pray for you,” and then not act upon that promise. I know that we have all done it, used these umbrella phrases and then not taken action. These words hold a beautifully capable meaning when expressed with a purpose; however these phrases can also be floated into the breeze and blown away without any substance. When these common idioms turn into nothing but empty noises that stir up from our powerful lungs, where are our intentions within these promises? Are we using our breath to declare things that are honoring towards God? Or are we flinging out hollow sounds with no emotion attached? I am so tempted to speak familiar phrases over people, but I am also aware of the complacency that can come from using a tokened word-order anytime conversation allows. It is so powerful to use speech that speaks truth, especially in a way that creatively reflects the rare character Christ has given each soul. Taking time to push past the tendency to be satisfied with a Christianese phrase may just be worth it.

This last school year a friend of mine told me about the origin of the word Yahweh. Yahweh, a Biblical Hebrew word, is often translated to LORD. The original Hebrew writing is YHWH (overtime we have added the vowels). Scholars have noted that YHWH, when spoken the way it was intended, is representative of the sounds of breathing. That is an intriguing thought.  The name of the Lord is spoken in our aspirated breath with any word we say, with each time we inhale with a resounding exhale.  What does that translate to in our lives? We are to use our words to honor God (check out Romans 10) but in our everyday conversations, He still gets the glory. This is illustrative of why it is so essential that our expressions be used in a way that is pleasing to Christ and ultimately leads others to Him.

Another conviction I have felt lately comes from using Christianese comes from circumstances where there are non-believers. I am embarrassed by my tendency to use non-inclusive phrases that can often leave others confused. I want my words and actions to reflect Christ, especially in circumstances where He has placed me to do so, and if that means taking time to elaborate on what I am saying so that those around me can understand, then it is worth it. My challenge for myself (and for you if you choose to take it) is to align my actions and my spoken words. If I say something that is deemed to be overused, then I hope to place meaning behind it without being satisfied with my throwaway speech. Words are truly powerful things despite what the old nursery rhyme says: Sticks and stones will break my bones but words will never hurt me.

Actions speak loud, that is known, but words carry an immense amount of meaning, especially if with each breath of life we are expressing praise.

I don’t mean to bring offense with this article, as I use Christianese just as much as the next Christian-college student, I am using this article as a way to share my knowledge. I pray that we can learn to select lyrics that come from deep within our body with a tender heart that is focused Christ. Be challenged that next time you utter the words I will pray for you, that your full intention is to do just that. Be inspired the next time you are speaking with non-believers about Christ to elaborate on phrases that may seem nominal in your everyday living. Be dedicated to using your breath to whisper truth into a situation where words are tossed around like ashes.

seek adventure | live agápe | and discover truth

-Merissa

Leave a comment